APA Board of Directors 2016

Board & Council

2016 Board of Directors

APA Board of Directors 2016
Front row, from left: President-Elect Antonio E. Puente, PhD; 2016 President Susan H. McDaniel, PhD, ABPP; and Past President Barry S. Anton, PhD, ABPP
Back row, from left: Diana L. Prescott, PhD; Richard M. McGraw, PhD; Christine M. Jehu, PhD; Sandra L. Shullman, PhD; Linda F. Campbell, PhD; Frank Worrell, PhD; Cynthia D. Belar, PhD, ABPP; Helen L. Coons, PhD, ABPP; Bonnie Markham, PhD, PsyD; and Jennifer F. Kelly, PhD

The APA Board of Directors consists of six members-at-large and six officers — the president-elect, president, past president, treasurer, recording secretary and CEO. The chair of the American Psychological Association of Graduate Students (APAGS) serves as an additional member. Much like any corporate board, it oversees the association’s administrative affairs and, with the advice and assistance of the Finance Committee, presents an annual budget for approval by the Council of Representatives.


Susan H. McDaniel, PhD, ABPP
University of Rochester Medical Center

Antonio E. Puente, PhD
University of North Carolina-Wilmington

Past President
Barry S. Anton, PhD, ABPP
Rainier Behavioral Health

Recording Secretary
Jennifer F. Kelly, PhD, ABPP
Independent practice, Atlanta, GA

Interim Chief Executive Officer and Interim Executive Vice President

Cynthia D. Belar, PhD, ABPP
American Psychological Association


Bonnie Markham, PhD, PsyD
Independent practice, Metuchen, NJ


Christine Jehu, PhD
East Carolina University Counseling Center


Linda F. Campbell, PhD
University of Georgia

Helen L. Coons, PhD, ABPP
Women’s Mental Health Associates

Richard M. McGraw, PhD
Independent group practice, San Angelo, Texas

Diana L. Prescott, PhD
Hampden Psychological Consultation, PLLC

Sandra L. Shullman, PhD
Executive Development Group

Frank C. Worrell, PhD
University of California, Berkeley

View 2017 Board members, election info, meeting dates/minutes and more.

Council of Representatives

The Council of Representatives is the legislative body of APA and has full power and authority over the affairs and funds of the association within the limitations set by the certificate of incorporation and the APA Bylaws, including the power to review, on its own initiative, the actions of any board, committee, division or affiliated organization.

Council comprises representatives of divisions; representatives of state, provincial and territorial psychological associations; and the members of the Board of Directors.

View 2017 Council members, election info, meeting dates/minutes and more.